HISWAI shows you what’s connected to topics that interest you, and where to find more. HISWAI members can curate information with dashboards to gain insights, proper context and stay up to date on the latest relevant information. Sharing these discoveries with others is easy too!
Date: 2021-01-18 16:41:15
Tags for this article:
It took the league a second look to confirm that Pittsburgh’s game-tying goal against the Capitals actually went in.
Goaltender Ilya Samsonov turned over the puck behind the net. As the Caps netminder scrambled back to the crease, Teddy Blueger centered the puck to Colton Sceviour. He fired a shot that appeared to deflect off the crossbar.
Referee Kyle Rehman, right on top of the play, signaled a goal on the ice. He skated to the net, pointing at the video camera installed just beneath the crossbar, indicated that the puck contacted the in-net camera.
The officials headed upstairs to confirm the call on the ice. After a lengthy review, the league confirmed the original call on the ice:
Video review confirmed the call on the ice that Colton Sceviour’s shot completely crossed the Capitals’ goal line.
The puck clearly hit the video camera – just below the crossbar, but over the goal line – before bouncing down into the slot. Good goal, Pens.
Pittsburgh went on to win the game 4-3 in a shootout.